Howdy everyone! :)

Well howdy everyone!! My name is Emily Jackson, I am originally from Waco, Texas and am currently a freshman here at Butler! Just an introduction of myself…I am a fifth-generation livestock producer. I actually grew up on a dairy farm in central Texas, where alongside 1100 dairy cattle, we have around 100 commercial and registered Brangus cattle, a Bermuda sprig and hay business and raise stocker calves for feedlot production.  

If any of you are wondering what Texas crops look like, this is a picture I snapped this summer of my Dad standing in front of some of the row sorghum we grew.

Our farm sits right on the Brazos river so our land is very sandy, hence the tall crops! 

Now, although I grew up on a dairy farm, I actually showed market steers and heifers my whole 4-H and FFA career. Alongside showing, I was also very involved in public speaking and livestock judging, both of which have played a substantial role in my current and future life plans. Livestock judging is what attracted my small town Texas self all the way up to El Dorado, Kansas. I am currently a member of the Butler Livestock Judging team, one of the nation’s best!

The Butler Livestock Judging Team attracts young people from all over the nation! Here is a few of the Butler Freshman, states represented include Texas, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee and North Carolina!

After Butler, I hope to transfer onto a four-year college and continue my livetock judging adventures there also! But, I do believe that my public speaking experience is what has impacted my life the most. After I attain my degree in Ag Leadership, I hope to one day become a lobbyist for the agriculture industry. Promoting the ag industry is beyond important to me as my family has been rooted in this lifestyle for so many generations! I hope one day I will be a positive impact on the way the American public views agriculture! 🙂

And finally, I love inspiring quotes, thus, I feel the need to include one!

“Happiness is not found at the end of the road, it is experience along the way. So take not for granted each moment of your life and you will find a reason to be happy each day”  -Unknown

Go find your happiness for the day! Yours truly, Emily 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Meet the Bloggers

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

