Ice, Ice Baby!

Snowy weather and I have a Love-Hate relationship. Oh, how I love to look out my window first thing of a morning and see the gorgeous sight of black and red cattle in a snowy pasture. And Oh, how I love tie a tire to the back of the 4-wheeler and crash through deep snow drifts with my siblings. And Oh, how I love, and I repeat LOVE to have snow days from school!  But like many other agriculturists I know, the weather doesn’t always love us back.

When the weather gets crazy like it has been as of late, some extra chores are required around the farm. One of these would be chopping ice. If you are from Georgia, it’s Crackin’ Creeks. Or if you hail from Texas, you might call it Breaking Ice. (Or at least that’s that the roomies told me. I’ll believe them.) While this seems like a hassle, it is essential so our cattle can drink water, even during cold Kansas winters.

While I sure put my time in on swingin’ the ax, I never pass up an opportunity to let my brother, Flinton, or my Dad take their turn! After all, I was always told it builds character.

Explore posts in the same categories: Agricultural Issues, Life Back Home

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

