Full of bull….

Full of bull….when I was little, I remember my mom telling my older cousin that he was “filled with bull” and also that he had the “gift of gab” πŸ™‚ As I got older that statement began being used in reference to me! Both my cousin and I have VERY talkative mothers, so it must be heredity in it’s finest! But….this “full of bull” that I am speaking about is not in fact the slang term for a chit chatty person but instead in the literal sense, my family’s farm back home is FULL of bull(s)!

Back home in Texas, major shows are in full swing! The Fort Worth Stock Show is in prime time and soon, everyone will pack up and head home for a day of rest and be off to San Antonio, then Houston. Every year at the San Antonio Livestock Exposition, they hold an event called the “All Breeds Bull Sale”. Last year my family and I took two Brangus bulls to this sale and received Grand and Reserve Brangus Bulls!! (Officials come in and rank the bulls, prior to the sale and extra money and prizes are given to the two highest placing bulls in each breed.) Anyway, our family is once again taking two bulls to the sale so if you’re looking for a new stud to complete your cow herd, I’ve got just the answer πŸ™‚

Since I am outside of my element, and many people are unaware of the immense quality and positivity offered by the ohh so marvelous Brangus bull, let me fill you in! πŸ™‚ Brangus are 3/8 Brahman and 5/8 Angus…..meaning they combine the splendor of two leading breeds! They are hardy enough to withstand the tough Texas heat, humidity and insects but also durable enough to beat the cold conditions of northern states! Brangus make excellent mothers and wean fast-growing calves. If you’re looking to make profit on weaned/yearling offspring, well Brangus are solid black, without a hump and therefore will qualify for extra premiums under ‘Certified Angus Beef’.

Here are our two bulls going in the sale on February 9, 2011 in San Antonio, Texas:

Lot 27 "Mr CJ Lynard Skynard" DOB: September 2008

Lot 28 "Mr EJ Seth" DOB: January 2009

Another exciting fact about Brangus is their longevity. This is "Lexi" one of the bases of our cow herd, with whom both these bulls can trace back to. She's 9 years old in this picture ladies and gentlemen!!

So! If you’re out there looking for a new completion to your cow family….look no further! Brangus calves combine so many thrilling traits in such an adorable package! You won’t be able to contain your smiles when you see these precious critters running through your pastures, I assure you! And have no fear my dear, if you’re not a fan of public sales or just don’t want to travel that far south we have plenty of bulls still to sell back at the farm!

Have a fantastic week,

Emily:)

P.S. For more information on the bulls, call Jodi at 254-722-9138

Explore posts in the same categories: Life Back Home

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

