The trials of an Ag kid…

It’s not news to anyone that everyone has their share of quirks, and it wasn’t until recently that I realized one of my biggest ones! As members of a collegiate livestock judging team we spend a fair amount of our time looking at livestock. With each class set up in a way that its hard not to compare-although as Chris always says, individual evaluation is key!- but even with Chris’ advice in mind we don’t always listen and this is where our quirks begin!

Trial # 1

The search for the PERFECT animal

With the majority of us growing up in, or around the show industry and with a large majority of contests made up of show animals it’s hard not to  get swept up in the notion that a perfect animal does exist. Yet, it’s this idea that while most of the time harmless, can get us into trouble. Whether it means we over analyze every heifer we come across on the most current online sale, or we rail on the 4th place animal in the reasons room. Our search for perfection leaves us over critical and instead of seeing a good animal, instead we see how far they are from our checklist for perfection!

Trial # 2

The compulsive need to correct people on the proper sex title of an animal

Whenever you hear people talking about livestock its real easy to get excited and want to be a part of their conversation, but there’s no faster way to get their input than to say something about those “cows” over there, when in fact they happen to be bulls! It’s a personal pet peeve of my own when people who actually know the distinction still choose to refer to all cattle as cows! It makes no sense to me! Never have I ever come across people who feel the need to call every hog they see a sow, or every sheep a ewe, or every horse a mare! C’mon people it’s not that difficult! If you don’t know just simply refer to them as cattle, then no matter what you’ll be correct! Although I know this gets on the nerves of a lot of Ag people my quirk goes a little to far. I’ve found my self in situations where I’m even correcting little kids! I realize it’s silly, and ridiculous, but every time I tell myself not to my mouth opens without my permission and out come the words! The biggest problem with this is mothers tend to glare when a stranger corrects their child!

Trial # 3

The belief that drawings should be a reflection of a true show animal

This happens to be a new-found quirk of mine and I’m not sure why, but as of lately it drives me nuts when I see a drawing of a steer I now care about his structure, his length of body, and how much muscularity can be seen in the drawing! Case in point Allie, Bracy and I  just ordered an ice cream cake for Jackie’s birthday and of course we asked for the drawing to include a show heifer!  The lady miss understood and informed us she would have no problem depicting a cow, we let the mix up go and hoped for the best! Instead we got this…

18704_559946757353881_199918814_n We were less than impressed with her topline, how high her tail head was, and her thick unfeminine neck among other things! To remedy the situation Bracy took a candle to her to make her into a much more presentable female (:

21904_559947040687186_2038039020_n

The finished product!

All in all it’s pretty harmless and it’s really not all that hard to be an Ag kid, but next time I correct someone for calling a steer a cow they might understand why (:

Explore posts in the same categories: Life in the 67042, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

