Hello.. I am Elizabeth!

Hello everyone! My name is Elizabeth Nixon and I am one of the newest Butler Ag Ambassador bloggers! I am originally from Virginia and many of you may be asking, why is a girl from Virginia attending college all the way in Kansas? Well here is my story. I have grown up in agriculture my whole entire life. It is something that runs deep in my blood, as generation upon generation has been involved in this amazing industry. My family owns and operates Glenmary Farm LLC in Rapidan, Virginia. The farm consists of 360 acres of owned land and an additional 3300 acres of rented land in the surrounding area. Our farming operation is highly diversified as we have 700 cows, a feedlot in which we finish over 1000 head of cattle a year, and we also run the BCIA Bull test station and we put on a bull sale every December. Along with the cattle, we grow over 2000 acres of corn and soybeans rotated with wheat and barley. We also have three turkey houses in which we grow hens for Cargill Turkey Production and my brother and I own our own flock of sheep from which we produce show lambs that are shown competitively at the local and state level. Growing up on a farm has caused me to develop a passion for not only the agricultural industry as a whole, but more specifically raising, showing and judging livestock. Because of this passion, I decided to attend Butler Community College to be a part of the Butler Livestock Judging Team and that is why I am here! It is my hope that through blogging, I will be able to advocate for agriculture and share all my experiences with this industry! 🙂

P.S. If you would like to learn more about my family’s farming operation, please visit glenmaryfarmllc.com

eliz black 1bw

Explore posts in the same categories: Meet the Bloggers, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

